“Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.”  So I went down to the potter’s house, and saw him working at the wheel.  But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands, so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as it seemed best to him.                                                          Jeremiah 18: 2-4  (NIV)

 

I was never very good with clay.  I never could shape it the way I wanted, or even so it looked like more than just a glob of clay.  But even in grade school, my friend Hank could turn a lump of clay into sellable art.  I remember him sitting and staring at some clay one day in art class, carefully planning before he started working on it.  Then slowly, meticulously, he began shaping.  But that day the clay wouldn’t do what he wanted.  Frustrated, he sat back, crossed his arms and glared at it.  After a few moments, a smile spread across his face.  He picked up his clay, turning it first this way and then that way.  He hummed as he began work again.  In the end, his creation was not at all what he planned — it was better!

Life is like that.  I’m great at making plans.  But often, when my plans seem fool-proof, God steps in and reshapes them.  He has something better planned.  I had wonderful plans for my son, but God didn’t shape him that way.  He shaped him “as seemed best to him.”  A beautiful creation.

Lord,

I am so thankful your are the artist, not me.  Other may see my child with his defects as a marred piece of clay.  But in your skilled and loving hands he was created as a work of art, just as he was meant to be.

Amen 

 

