Trust the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.

                                          Proverbs 3:5,6

 

My pregnancy had been uncomplicated, but I was overdue.  Then the day before my doctor’s appointment (two days before we were set to induce if he didn’t show up on his own) the baby stopped moving.  I  couldn’t get anyone else excited about it, they all insisted I was worrying about nothing.  When my husband arrived home from work, he placed his hand on my belly and the baby moved for the first time in hours.  But the movement was different.  It felt wrong, but I couldn’t articulate the difference to anyone.  At the doctor’s appointment and again at the hospital when they went to induce labor, everything seemed fine.

The delivery was a little rough.  After four hours of pushing, Glenn arrived with his fist pressed against his cheek.  Still, his initial apgar score was nine.   Nine!! Wow!  I didn’t know anyone who’s initial score was that high. “Thank you, Lord, for a healthy baby,” I prayed.

Then things started falling apart. He was so lethargic.  He stopped eating. He had this unexplained tremor. Then the seizures started.  We couldn’t believe it when we were told our son had suffered a stroke while still inside the womb.

I went over and over in my mind every detail of my pregnancy, trying to understand how his could happen.  I kept coming up with more questions, but no answers.  I had made my living as a medical librarian, so I naturally turned to medical texts to find answers.  Yet I was no closer to understanding. 

Then I turned to The Book.  Finally, the pages of God’s Word helped me to realize it wasn’t necessary for me to understand the whys.  I was tearing myself up looking for answers that weren’t there for me to see.  But God knows the answers and he’s in control.   He’s there for us to lean on, if we will only trust him.

Lord, you know how independent I am.  You know how hard it is for me to lean on anyone. You also know how hard it is for me to stop looking for answers after I’ve exhausted all my resources.  I need to trust you to take care of my child and my family.  Thank you for being there to lean on.  Help me trust in You.

