“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11

When my son was little, my worries tended to be short term, often very immediate and day-to-day type worries.  But now that Glenn is 14,  I seem to find myself pondering his adulthood and worrying about what it might hold.  How will we insure he has a meaningful and enjoyable life?  What if something happens and I can not physically take care of him anymore?

It would be easy to let myself be overwhelmed with these worries. But when I find myself sinking into despair, I remember that God holds my son’s future.  He already has a plan that is just right for Glenn.  He also has the perfect plan for your child. Now, I’m not advocating that you neglect planning or considering your child’s future options.  On the contrary, I believe it is of great importance.  But I suggest handling such planning with prayer, remembering that God will reveal his plan at just the right time.

Lord, thank you that even before he was born, you had a plan for my child’s life, a plan far better than anything I could create myself.  Lead me in the decisions I make for my child and reassure me when I am anxious.

Amen

