“I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.”

                   Psalm 16:8

Sometimes the tasks ahead of us as parents seem a little overwhelming.  Since Glenn is 14, this is the year we start planning with the school for his life after school. A task that, by itself,  makes me more than a little anxious.  But add to the mix, the fact that we are moving to a new school district as well.  Last time we moved, we moved from a large suburban district to a small, rural district.  We expected a reduction of service, but we really weren’t prepared for what  we found.  It seemed no one really knew what to do with Glenn.  It wasn’t until after we had been here for more than a year that we discovered that Glenn was the first  severely handicapped child (Glenn is physically, cognitively and visually impaired as well as being  nonverbal)to be kept in district.  All the others had been shipped off to larger districts.  Glenn became a trail blazer for students that followed, but I can’t say that I really want to go through that again.

Now we find ourselves moving to an even smaller district, in a county that is one of the most economically distressed in the state. There are many reasons why my husband and I are certain that God is leading us to this place. However, that does not keep me from losing sleep thinking about starting over with a new school.  I am putting together a packet of information (complete with video) to help introduce Glenn and his needs to the district.  Though he won’t start school until fall,  I plan to start working with the new district in February or March since I realize providing for Glenn will have an economic impact on the district budget. I have a definite plan of action.  Still, more often than I would like, I find myself scared and wishing that we could just stay where we are so Glenn and I wouldn’t have to go through all this.

But then I remember that God is leading us to this place, so He will take care of everything.  I just need to handle the process with prayer and let Him be in charge.

Lord, you know how much this all worries me.  Help me to focus on following you and you will take care of the rest. I know that you are even more concerned about my child’s welfare than I am, help me to trust you with him. Thank you for taking care of us.  Amen

